مثل العديد من الشباب ، كانت إيلينا رافاي غير متأكدة مما تريد القيام به في الحياة أثناء وجودها في جامعة فاندربيلت في ناشفيل ، تينيسي. بعد التسجيل في بعض فصول الترميز ، أدركت رافاي ، 25 عامًا ، أن الترميز لم يكن شيئًا تستمتع به فحسب ، ولكنه أتاح لها مجموعة متنوعة من الفرص الوظيفية.

تتذكر قائلة: "كنت في الجامعة وبدأت في تلقي بعض دروس الترميز ، واعتقدت أنه رائع جدًا ، الجانب اللغز المنطقي من الأشياء".

تعمل إيلينا رافاي البالغة من العمر 25 عامًا كمطوّرة مكدسة كاملة في ThoughtWorks. صورة من إيلينا رافاي.

نشأ رافاي وهو نشأ ابنة أم إسبانية وأب أمريكي في كنتاكي ، وقضى العديد من الصيف في مدريد. بعد الانتهاء من عامها الأخير في الجامعة في جامعة هونغ كونغ للعلوم والتكنولوجيا والتخرج بشهادة في علوم الكمبيوتر ، أرادت رافاي تجربة ما سيكون عليه العيش بدوام كامل في إسبانيا.

تمكنت من العثور على وظيفة في ThoughtWorks - حيث تعمل حاليًا كمطور مكدس كامل - وانتقلت إلى برشلونة في عام 2017. وهنا سمعت لأول مرة عن Migracode من زميل في العمل ومدرب متطوع في وقت سابق من هذا العام. 

نظرًا لأن Raffay كانت تبحث عن طريقة للرد على مجتمع منزلها الجديد ، فقد استهدفها غرض Migracode وأهدافه. 

تقول: "اكتشفت مع مجموعة المهارات الخاصة بي ، كان هذا هو الشيء الأكثر تأثيرًا الذي يمكن أن أفعله". "خاصة بالنسبة للمجموعة التي كانت ممثلة تمثيلا ناقصا تاريخيا".

بدأ Raffay في Migracode في مارس كمدرب مساعد ، يساعد في تدريس الوحدات على HTML و CSS. قامت بتدريس فصل واحد فقط قبل أن تعلن الحكومة حالة إنذار بسبب تفشي الفيروس التاجي ، كان على Raffay ، مع المعلمين والطلاب الآخرين ، التكيف مع طريقة التدريس عبر الإنترنت بالكامل.

حتى من دون جائحة عالمي ، فإن التدريس في Migracode ، كما هو الحال مع أي برنامج أكاديمي أو تقني ، لا يخلو من التحديات.

يقر Raffay أن الكم الهائل من المحتوى الذي يقدمه الطلاب ويتوقع منهم تعلمه في فترة زمنية قصيرة نسبيًا يمكن أن يكون مخيفًا. يمكن أن يتفاقم ذلك عندما يقترن بالتحديات التي يواجهها العديد من الطلاب الذين يحاولون التنقل في نظام الهجرة الإسباني.

على الرغم من العقبات التي يتعين على العديد من الطلاب التغلب عليها ، يقول رافاي أنهم "يلتقطون [المواد] بشكل جيد".

ومع ذلك ، يوفر التدريس عبر الإنترنت مشكلاته الخاصة.

بينما تتيح الفصول الدراسية الشخصية للمدرسين فرصة قراءة لغة الجسد والتواجد جسديًا مع الطلاب ، يمكن أن تخلق الفصول عبر الإنترنت شعورًا بالانفصال.

وتقول: "عليك أن تأخذ أكثر من المسلم به أن الناس يتابعون معك ويستمعون إلى كل شيء ، لأنه لا يمكنك دائمًا معرفة ذلك عبر الإنترنت". "أعتقد أن أحد الأشياء المفقودة من الإنترنت هو القدرة على إجراء هذه المحادثات المخصصة - إذا كنت تساعد طالبًا وطالبًا آخر يسمعك مساعدته ، ومثل" أوه ، لدي نفس المشكلة "، يمكنهم القفز والحصول أيضا على هذه المساعدة. "

وتضيف أن عدم القدرة على رؤية لغة جسد الطلاب ورؤية جميع وجوههم بوضوح في نفس الوقت (حيث يمكن للطلاب إيقاف تشغيل الكاميرات) ، يجعل من الصعب معرفة ما إذا كانوا جميعًا يفهمون المادة بالفعل أم لا. 

يقدم Raffay عرضًا عن blockchain في حدث Ada Lovelace ليوم المرأة. صورة من إيلينا رافاي.

"لا يمكنك معرفة ما إذا كان الناس يفهمونك كثيرًا أو إذا كنت بحاجة إلى التعمق في الأشياء." يقول Raffay. "وربما يكون الطلاب أكثر ترددًا في طرح أسئلتهم عبر الإنترنت لأن الجميع يمكنهم رؤيتها أو أنهم يقاطعون المحاضرة بطريقة ما". 

ومع ذلك ، في حين أن الفصول الدراسية عبر الإنترنت بالكامل ليست مثالية ، لا تزال Raffay تقول إنها تستمتع بكونها جزءًا من مجتمع المبرمجين - من جميع مناحي الحياة المختلفة - القادرين على التعلم والتعليم في مثل هذه الفترة القصيرة من الوقت.

إن الشعور بالتمكين الذي يأتي من التعلم وتعليم مهارة جديدة ليس شعورًا جديدًا لرافاي. أثناء تواجدها في الجامعة ، تطوعت مع منظمة الفتيات على الربح ، التي تعمل على تمكين الفتيات قبل سن المراهقة من خلال التأكيد على الثقة واحترام الذات وأنماط الحياة الصحية من خلال منهج صغير يختتم بسباق 5K.

بالنسبة لأي مبرمجين في برشلونة يفكرون في التطوع كمدرب ، يحذر Raffay من ترك الخوف من الالتزام بالوقت يوقفك.

"من تصنيف الواجبات المنزلية إلى كونك مدربًا رئيسيًا ، يمكنك حقًا تخصيص أي وقت تريده ... إنه وقت مكثف حقًا كما تفعل."

وإلى أي طلاب محتملين من Migracode ، يوصي Raffay بأخذ القفزة. وتقول: "إذا كنت تفكر ولو لثانية واحدة ، فسأستمر في التقدم وتقديم الطلب لأنك لا تعرف أبدًا ما إذا كنت ستدخل ، أو الفرص التي ستنشأ ...". "انا اريد المتابعه لاجلها."


0 تعليق

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

Like many young adults, Elena Raffay was unsure of what she wanted to do in life while at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. After enrolling in some coding classes, Raffay, 25, realized that coding was not only something she enjoyed, but it afforded her a variety of career opportunities.

“I was at university and I started taking some coding classes,” she recalls, “and I thought it was pretty cool, the logic puzzle side of things.”

Twenty-five year-old Elena Raffay works as a full stack developer at ThoughtWorks. Photo courtesy of Elena Raffay.

Growing up the daughter of a Spanish mother and American father in Kentucky, Raffay spent many summers in Madrid. After completing her final year of university at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology and graduating with a computer science degree, Raffay wanted to experience what living full time in Spain would be like.

She was able to find a job at ThoughtWorks — where she currently works as a full stack developer — and moved to Barcelona in 2017. It was here that she first heard about Migracode from a coworker and volunteer instructor earlier this year. 

Since Raffay was looking for a way to give back to her new home community, Migracode’s purpose and goals appealed to her. 

“I figured with my skill set, this was the most impactful thing that I could be doing,” she says. “Especially for a group that’s been so historically underrepresented.”

Raffay started at Migracode in March as a supporting instructor, helping to teach the modules on HTML and CSS. She only taught one class before the government announced a state of alarm due to the coronavirus outbreak, Raffay, along with other teachers and students, had to adapt to a fully online instruction method.

Even without a global pandemic, teaching at Migracode, as with any academic or technical program, is not without challenges.

Raffay acknowledges that the sheer amount of content that students are presented and expected to learn in a relatively short period of time can be intimidating. That can be exacerbated when paired with the challenges many students face who are trying to navigate the Spanish immigration system.

Despite the obstacles many students have to overcome, Raffay says that they are “picking [the material] up pretty well.”

However, teaching online provides its own issues.

While in-person classes allow instructors the opportunity to read body language and be physically present with students, online classes can create a feeling of disconnect.

“You have to take more for granted that people are following along and listening and everything, because you can’t always tell that online,” she says. “I think one thing that’s missing from online is the ability to have those ad-hoc conversations — if you’re helping one student and another student overhears you helping them, and is like ‘oh, I have the same problem,’ they can jump in and also get that help.”

The inability to see students’ body language and clearly see all their faces at the same time (as students can turn cameras off), makes it harder to tell if they all actually understand the material, she adds. 

Raffay gives a presentation on blockchain at an Ada Lovelace Women’s Day event. Photo courtesy of Elena Raffay.

“You can’t tell if people are understanding you as much or if you need to go deeper into things.” Raffay says. “And maybe students are more hesitant to bring up their questions online because everyone can see it or they’re interrupting the lecture in some way.” 

However, while fully online classes aren’t ideal, Raffay still says she enjoys being part of this community of coders — from all different walks of life — who are able to learn and teach in such a short amount of time.

The feeling of empowerment that comes from learning and teaching a new skill is not a new feeling for Raffay. While in university, she volunteered with the non-profit Girls on the Run, which works to empower pre-teen girls by emphasizing confidence, self-respect and healthy lifestyles through a small curriculum that concludes with a 5K race.

For any Barcelona coders who are thinking of volunteering as an instructor, Raffay warns not to let fear of a time commitment stop you.

“From grading homeworks to being a main instructor, you can really put in whatever amount of time you want… it’s really as time intensive as you make it.”

And, to any prospective Migracode students, Raffay recommends to take the jump. “If you’re considering even for a second, I would go ahead and apply and do it because you never know if you’re going to get in, or what opportunities will arise…” she says. “I would go for it.”


0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *