كتبه روبرتا كاماسي

حتى ديسمبر 2016 ، كان معاذ مكية يحتسي قهوته بهدوء كل صباح قبل بدء يوم العمل في مزرعة عائلته ، على بعد 15 دقيقة بالسيارة من دمشق ، سوريا. الحرب المروعة في البلاد كانت مستمرة منذ عام 2011 مع عدم وجود علامات على تراجع التصعيد ؛ لا يزال ، في مزرعة معاذ شعرت بالأمان. "بالنسبة لي كان المكان الأكثر أمانًا على الأرض" ، يتذكر. "كان لدي حيوانات بلدي ، والخضروات الخاصة لي أن تنمو. تم تنظيم حياتي ".

إنه الآن عام 2020 ، ويعيش معاذ في El Born ، في قلب برشلونة ، حيث كان عليه أن يلتزم بشراء الخضار بدون نكهة في السوبر ماركت بدلاً من زراعة أنواع لذيذة أكثر منه. ولكن ، في هذه البيئة الحضرية أيضًا ، بدأ الشاب البالغ من العمر 25 عامًا في تنظيم حياته. ثرثرة وصادرة ، بنى معاذ مجموعة ضيقة من الأصدقاء ويتعامل مع جدول أعمال مزدحم ، منقسم بين تدريس اللغة العربية ، وتعلم اللغة الإسبانية ، ودراسة نوع آخر من اللغات - لغات البرمجة.

روبرتا ومواز خلال المقابلة في أورينت

معاذ هي واحدة من طلاب Migracode ، وهي مبادرة أوروبية تدرس مهارات البرمجة للاجئين والمهاجرين كوسيلة لتسهيل اندماجهم على المدى الطويل في القارة. تم إطلاق البرنامج في برشلونة ، الذي استضافه وإداره المركز الثقافي المفتوح (OCC) ، في شهر أكتوبر مع فئة من تسعة طلاب. من المقرر أن تبدأ الطبعة الثانية من الدورة في مارس.

كان ميراكود هو الذي جذب معاذ إلى عاصمة كاتالونيا على أمل أن يتعلم مهارات جديدة وقيمة في حياته المهنية ، إلى جانب إتاحة الفرصة له للعمل تطوع ESC في OCC. نفس الدافع الذي دفعه إلى الهجرة إلى أوروبا. مثله مثل خمسة ملايين سوري آخرين ، غادر بلاده هربًا من الحرب بحثًا عن حياة أفضل. يقول: "لقد تركت المعركة أو انضممت إليها ، لذلك شعرت أنه ليس لدي خيار بالفعل".

غادر معاذ سوريا إلى تركيا في نهاية عام 2016 مع 10 من أصدقائه ، ولكن لم تكن هناك عائلة - هاجر أقرباؤه إلى مصر في وقت لاحق. في صيف عام 2017 ، قرر الانتقال إلى اليونان حيث كان يأمل أن تكون ظروف اللاجئين أقل صعوبة. لكن هذه المرة لم ينضم إليه أي أصدقاء. لدى وصوله إلى مدينة Polikastro اليونانية وإدراك أنه لا يمكن للكثير من الأشخاص خارج مخيمات اللاجئين التحدث باللغة العربية ، تعرف Mouaz على OCC ، حيث التحق في أول دورة لغة إنجليزية في حياته. بعد عامين فقط ، يتحدث اللغة بطلاقة.

معاذ (على اليمين) في صف Migracode في برشلونة

يشبه إلى حد كبير في بداية دورة اللغة الإنجليزية ، لم يكن تعلم الكود سهلاً. يقول معاذ بصراحة: "في الصفوف الأولى ، لم أفهم شيئًا". ومع ذلك ، بالاعتماد على تجربته الخاصة ، فإن الصعوبات ليست عقبة أمامه. مع اكتمال حوالي 50% من الدورة التدريبية ، يعتقد أن مستوى رضائه من الترميز قد تحسن إلى حد كبير: "يمكنني القول إنه الآن 6 من أصل 10. ما زلت أجد الفصول الدراسية صعبة ولكني أستمتع بها أيضًا".

يلعب المعلمون في الدورة ، الذين يعملون 100% طوعًا ، دورًا كبيرًا في مساعدة الطلاب على التغلب على التحديات الأولية ، وفقًا لمواز. "إنهم مستعدون دائمًا لتقديم فصول إضافية ومساعدة ، كل ما عليك فعله هو أن تطلب ذلك" ، كما يلاحظ ، ممتنًا تمامًا. "إن رؤيتهم يعلموننا مجانًا ، مع العلم أنه يمكن أن يحصلوا على رواتب جيدة للغاية في إعطاء دروس في مكان آخر ، وهذا في الواقع هو الدافع الأكبر بالنسبة لي."

ستكون خطوة كبيرة بالنسبة لمعاذ في الأسابيع القادمة هي تحديد نهاية مشروع المقرر. في الوقت الحالي ، يفكر في إنشاء موقع ويب به معلومات موثوقة للاجئين الذين يطلبون اللجوء في أوروبا. "هناك الكثير من الأخبار المزيفة والمعلومات الخاطئة الموجودة هناك ، ومن الصعب جدًا دائمًا معرفة من يقول الحقيقة" ، يشرح. واجه معاذ مثل هذه التحديات عندما قرر الانتقال من تركيا إلى اليونان ، على سبيل المثال. "أخبرني بعض الأشخاص أن الرحلة كانت صعبة للغاية ، وقال لي آخرون إنها ستكون على ما يرام. في النهاية ، قررت أن أراها بنفسي. "

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتشفير ، يخطط Mouaz بالفعل لتعلم بعض اللغات الإضافية بعد الانتهاء من Migracode. كما يريد أن يتعلمها بشكل أفضل. يقول: "إنه شيء غير محدود ، كل يوم تتطور هذه اللغات ، لذلك عليك فقط الاستمرار في الدراسة".

يعتقد معاذ أن اكتساب المهارات التقنية هو جزء من العمل الذي ينتظرنا. ويتذكر قائلاً: "لقد بدا الأمر وكأنني عندما وصلت إلى أوروبا ، اعتقدت أن كل ما أحتاج إليه هو تعلم لغة للتواصل مع الناس". بالطبع ، هذا ضروري ، لكنه لم يصلح كل شيء. هناك الكثير لتتعلمه عن التكيف ، وإيجاد العمل ، وإعادة بناء الحياة ".

بعد مقابلة مع معاذ ، لا يسعني إلا أن أفكر في أن قصته هي قصة من المرونة والشجاعة ، قصة يواصل الكتابة - أو ربما الترميز؟ - باللغات الجديدة التي يجرؤ على تعلمها.

معاذ (الجانب الأيمن في الخلف) في فريق OCC كمتطوع في ESC
التصنيفات: مدونة

2 تعليق

برونا · فبراير 3, 2020 في 6:21 م

مقال جميل لمبادرة جميلة! معاذ ، شكراً لمشاركتك قصتك في التغلب على العديد من العقبات ، متمنياً لك كل التوفيق في المستقبل!

خوان مانويل مارتينيز قرطبة · نوفمبر 6, 2020 في 10:18 ص

que gran historyia felicitaciones a Mouaz، solo pienso en unirme a MigraCode lo antes posible، creo que es la herramienta que he soñado estando lejos de mi país. Aquí se habré la oportunidad de capacitarme a pesar de tener los impláculos con que se topan los emigrantes. Además es un programa full podré no sólo capacitarme، también tener la oportunidad de vincularme al mundo laboural acá en España.
غراسياس ديوس ، gracias MigraCode

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

Written by Roberta Campassi

Until December 2016, Mouaz Makkieh would quietly sip his coffee every morning before starting the workday in his family’s farm, a 15-minute drive away from Damascus, Syria. The horrific war in the country had been going on since 2011 with no signs of de-escalation; still, in the farm Mouaz felt secure. “For me it was the safest place on Earth,” he recalls. “I had my animals, my own vegetables to grow. My life was organized.”

It is now 2020 and Mouaz lives in El Born, in the heart of Barcelona, where he had to conform to buying flavourless vegetables at the supermarket instead of growing tastier ones himself. But, it is also in this very urban setting that the 25-year-old began to organize his life. Talkative and outgoing, Mouaz has built a tight group of friends and handles a busy schedule, split between teaching Arabic, learning Spanish, and studying another type of languages — programming ones.

Roberta and Mouaz during the interview in OCC

Mouaz is one of the students of Migracode, a European initiative that teaches programming skills to refugees and migrants as a way to facilitate their long term integration in the continent. The program in Barcelona, hosted and managed by the Open Cultural Center (OCC), launched in October with a class of nine students. The second edition of the course is scheduled to start in March.

It was Migracode that attracted Mouaz to the capital of Catalonia in hopes of learning new, valuable skills for his career, together with the opportunity to work as an ESC volunteer at OCC. The same drive that prompted him to immigrate to Europe. Like other five million Syrians, he left his country to escape war and in search of a better life. “It was leaving or joining the fight, so I felt I didn’t really have a choice,” he says.

Mouaz left Syria to Turkey at the end of 2016 together with 10 friends, but no family—his relatives would later immigrate to Egypt. In the summer of 2017, he decided to move to Greece where he hoped the conditions for refugees would be less difficult. But this time no friends joined him. Upon arriving in the Greek city of Polikastro and realizing that not many people outside refugee camps could speak Arabic, Mouaz got to know OCC, where he enrolled in the first English course of his life. Only two years later, he speaks the language fluently.

Mouaz (on the right) in a Migracode class in Barcelona

Pretty much like in the beginning of his English course, learning to code has not been easy. “In the first classes, I just didn’t understand anything,” says Mouaz, candidly. However, drawing on his own experience, difficulties are not an obstacle for him. With around 50% of the course completed, he reckons that his level of comfort with coding has improved considerably: “I’d say it’s now a 6 out of 10. I still find the classes hard but I also really enjoy them.”

The teachers in the course, who work 100% voluntarily, play a big role in helping the students overcome initial challenges, according to Mouaz. “They are always ready to give extra classes and help, all you have to do is ask,” he observes, fully appreciative. “Seeing them teaching us for free, knowing that they could be paid very well giving classes somewhere else, that’s actually the greatest motivation for me.”

A big step for Mouaz in the coming weeks will be to define the end of course project. At the moment, he is considering creating a website with reliable information for refugees seeking asylum in Europe. “There’s a lot of fake news and wrong information out there, and it’s always very hard to know who is telling the truth,” he explains. Mouaz faced such challenges when deciding to move from Turkey to Greece, for example. “Some people told me the trip was too difficult, others told me it would be fine. In the end, I decided to see it for myself.”

When it comes to coding, Mouaz already plans to learn a few more languages after finishing Migracode. He also wants to learn them better. “It’s kind of an infinite thing, every day these languages are developing, so you just have to keep studying,” he says.

Mouaz also believes that gaining technical skills is one part of the work that lies ahead. “It’s like when I arrived in Europe, I thought all I needed was to learn a language to communicate with people,” he recalls. “Of course, that is essential, but it didn’t fix everything. There’s so much more to learn about adapting, finding work, rebuilding life”.

After meeting Mouaz, I can’t help but think that his is a story of resilience and courage, one that he keeps writing —or perhaps coding?— with the new languages he dares to learn.

Mouaz (right side in the back) in the OCC team as ESC volunteer
Categories: Blog

1 Comment

Bruna · February 3, 2020 at 6:21 pm

Beautiful article for a beautiful initiative! Mouaz, thank you for sharing your story of overcoming so many obstacles, wishing you all the best for the future!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *