ستجد العديد من النساء أن عنوان هذه المقالة غير واقعي تمامًا أو على الأكثر ، مستحيل تمامًا ويمكن فقط للأبطال الخارقين. هذا لأن الكود والأطفال متشابهون بشكل مثير للسخرية من حيث أنهم يطلبون التفاني على أساس يومي ، واختبار صبرك ومثابرتك ، وقضاء ساعات نوم ثمينة ، وقد يجعلك تبكي أوقاتًا طويلة. ولكن على الرغم من أن ذلك يبدو مستحيلًا ، في هذه المقالة ، تشارك شاميندرجيت ونورجانا المشاركين في CodeWomen خبراتهم في تعلم البرمجة أثناء تربية أطفالهم.

شامينرجيت انضم إلى MigraCode في عام 2021 بفضل المنح الدراسية المقدمة من شريكنا INCO Academy لدراسة دورة دعم تكنولوجيا المعلومات والأمن. بعد التخرج بنجاح ، قررت مواصلة تدريبها في المهارات الرقمية لمتابعة مهنة في مجال التكنولوجيا. وبالتالي ، فهي تقوم حاليًا بدورة تطوير الويب التي تقدمها MigraCode. في الوقت نفسه ، تربي طفلها إكام البالغ من العمر 18 شهرًا.

من جانبها ، نورجانة أصبح مهتمًا بقطاع التكنولوجيا منذ عامين ، بعد الانضمام إلى مؤتمر نظمته أكاديمية كود أخرى. من هناك ، التقت بأشخاص جدد عرّفوها على البرمجة وتعاونت معهم بشكل جيد. اليوم ، تتطوع في CodeWomen أثناء البحث عن وظيفة كمطور وتربية طفلها Zia البالغ من العمر 8 سنوات.

عندما سُئلت شاميندرجيت عن الصعوبات التي تواجهها ، أجابت أن كونك أماً في هذه المهنة يمثل تحديًا ، ولكن في نفس الوقت "الأمومة نعمة ولا أعتبرها عبئًا". يبلغ طفلها الآن سنًا يحتاج فيه حقًا إلى الاهتمام ، لذلك يصعب عليها العمل من المنزل. "اليوم لم أتمكن من مقابلة معلمي لأن ابني كان بحاجة إلي ، لذلك اضطررت إلى إلغاء الاجتماع في اللحظة الأخيرة ... في أحيان أخرى ، أفتح الكمبيوتر المحمول فقط للعمل على بعض التمارين ، لكن Ikam يريد الحصول عليه" ، هي شرحت. 

بالنسبة إلى نورجانه ، تتمثل الصعوبة الرئيسية التي تواجهها في التعامل مع الثقة بالنفس. هي أم عزباء عاطلة عن العمل في الوقت الحالي ، وهي حالة تصفها بأنها "مخيفة". وفقا لها ، قبل عامين كان من الصعب حقًا التقدم لوظائف ، لأنها كانت تعاني من رفض الذات. علاوة على ذلك ، خلال COVID-19 ، أمضت الأشهر الخمسة الأولى من الإغلاق منفصلة عن زوجها وزيا ، مما جعلها تنهار فجأة. "لكن الطفل شخص آخر يجب الاعتناء به ، لذا لا يمكنك الانهيار" ، كما تقول. لحسن الحظ ، أصبح Zia الآن أكبر سناً بكثير ، وبالتالي فهو أكثر اكتفاءً ذاتيًا. 

شامينرجيت هي أيضًا عاطلة عن العمل حاليًا ، مما يخلق موقفًا صعبًا للغاية بالنسبة لها للتقدم في حياتها المهنية. نظرًا لأنها لا تستطيع تحمل تكاليف ترك طفلها في روضة الأطفال ، ليس لديها الكثير من الوقت للعمل بمفردها ، وبالتالي ، تأتي أحيانًا إلى الفصل دون مراجعة الدروس السابقة. بهذا المعنى ، يتفق كل من Shaminderjeet و Nurjannah على أن الانضمام إلى مجتمع CodeWomen كان مفيدًا للغاية. "هؤلاء النساء غيرن حياتي. عندما أتحدث معهم أشعر بالنشاط ، هناك تبادل ”، تقول نورجانه.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن القلق بشأن المستقبل أمر مرهق أيضًا لامرأتين غيرتا مهنتهما وتقومان بتربية الأسرة. "عمري وحقيقة أنني أم هي اهتماماتي الرئيسية في الوقت الحالي" ، تشرح نورجانه ، لأنها تشعر أن لديها "طاقة أقل لتوزيعها في نهاية اليوم". من جانبها ، تشعر شامينرجيت بالقلق بشأن الحصول على الوقت الكافي لصقل مهاراتها ، لأن البرمجة "لا تتعلق بإنهاء الدورة التدريبية ولكنها تتطلب التعلم المستمر".

ومع ذلك ، تذكر شامينرجيت أن "أخذ هذه الدورة كان قراري ، وبالتالي لا أريد استخدام طفلي كعذر. سيصبح الطفل طفلاً حتى يبلغ 16 عامًا ". كنتيجة أخيرة ، اتفقت المرأتان على أن أفضل نصيحة يمكن أن يقدموها إلى "أم في عالم التكنولوجيا" في المستقبل هي تحديد الأولويات. "اوجد التوازن بين قلبك ورأسك" ، تقول نورجانه. "وتعتقد أنك إذا نجوت من ذلك ، فسوف تنجو من أي شيء! تشعر أيضًا بقوة داخلية عندما تكون أماً "، يختتم شامينرجيت.

التصنيفات: مدونة

0 تعليق

اترك تعليقاً

عنصر نائب للصورة الرمزية

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

Many women will find the title of this article entirely unrealistic or at most, utterly impossible and only feasible for superheroes. This is because code and children are both ironically similar in that they demand dedication on a daily basis, test your patience and perseverance, take precious sleeping hours, and might even make you cry considerable times. But even though it seems impossible, in this article the CodeWomen participants Shaminderjeet and Nurjannah share their experiences of learning to code while raising their children.

Shaminderjeet joined MigraCode in 2021 thanks to the scholarships provided by our partner INCO Academy to study the IT Support & Security course. After graduating successfully, she decided to continue her training in digital skills to pursue a career in tech. Thus, she is currently doing the Web Development course offered by MigraCode. At the same time, she is raising her 18-month-old baby Ikam.

On her side, Nurjannah became interested in the tech sector two years ago, after joining a conference organised by another code academy. From there, she met new people who introduced her to coding and with whom she got along well. Today, she is volunteering at CodeWomen while looking for a job as a developer and raising her 8-year-old kid Zia.

When being asked about the difficulties they face, Shaminderjeet answers that being a mother in this career is challenging, but at the same time “motherhood is a blessing and I don’t take it as a burden”. Her kid is now at an age where he really needs attention, so it’s difficult for her to work from home. “Today I wasn’t able to meet my mentor because my son needed me, so I had to cancel the meeting at the last minute… Other times I just open my laptop to work on some exercises, but Ikam wants to grab it”, she explains. 

For Nurjannah, her main difficulty is dealing with self-confidence. She is a single mother who at the moment is unemployed, a situation which she defines as “scary”. According to her, two years ago it was really challenging to apply for jobs, as she was experiencing self-rejection. Moreover, during COVID-19, she spent the first five months of lockdown separated from her husband and Zia, which made her break down all of a sudden. “But a child is another person to take care of, so you can’t break down”, she says. Fortunately, now Zia is much older and, therefore, more self-sufficient. 

Shaminderjeet is also currently unemployed, which creates a very tricky situation for her to progress in her career. As she can’t afford to leave her child in a kindergarten, she doesn’t have much time to work alone and, therefore, sometimes she comes to class without having reviewed the previous lessons. In this sense, both Shaminderjeet and Nurjannah agree that joining the CodeWomen community has been extremely helpful. “These women changed my life. When I talk to them I get the feeling of being energized, there is an exchange”, claims Nurjannah.

In addition, having to worry about the future is also stressful for two women who changed careers and are raising families. “My age and the fact that I’m a mother are my main concerns right now”, explains Nurjannah, as she feels that she has “less energy to distribute at the end of the day”. On her side, Shaminderjeet is worried about getting enough time to polish her skills, as programming “is not about finishing a course but requires continuous learning”.

However, Shaminderjeet states that “taking this course was my decision and thus I don’t want to use my child as an excuse. A child is going to be a child until he or she is 16 years old”. As a final reflection, both women agree that the best advice they could give to a future ‘mum in tech’ is to set priorities. “Find the balance between your heart and your head”, says Nurjannah. “And think that, if you survive that, you will survive anything! You also feel an internal power when you are a mother”, concludes Shaminderjeet.

Categories: Blog

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published.