تتناول هذه المقالة قضايا الصحة العقلية. شكراً لجميع الطلاب الذين شاركوا في المحادثة المفتوحة ، وكذلك للطلاب الذين شاركوا بعض التعليقات حول مشاعرهم معنا.

لطالما كان إعطاء الأولوية للصحة العقلية للطلاب جزءًا أساسيًا من MigraCode Barcelona. عند إعداد البرنامج ، كان أحد الاهتمامات الرئيسية هو ضمان الدعم النفسي الجيد للطلاب لمنع تسربهم المبكر. مهمة يتم تنفيذها بواسطة فريق الصحة العقلية MigraCode، التي شكلها متطوعون علم النفس.

سبتمبر لحظة حساسة للعديد من الطلاب. سيقام خلال الشهر حفل تخرج دفعة الطلاب التي بدأت الدورة في شهر يناير. سيتعين على الطلاب تقديم مشروعهم النهائي ، وبالتالي إنهاء رحلتهم. في الوقت نفسه ، يجد الطلاب الذين بدأوا في يوليو أنفسهم يواجهون أول تحديات أكثر تعقيدًا ، بعد الحماس الأولي.

لهذه الأسباب ، قررنا إجراء محادثة مفتوحة حول الرفاهية والصحة العقلية ، لفهم كيفية تعامل الطلاب مع هذه التغييرات. كان أحد الأنماط الواضحة التي ظهرت هو أن الكثيرين كانوا يعانون مما يسمى بمتلازمة المحتال. ولكن ما هو بالضبط؟

عندما طلبنا من الطلاب تزويدنا بتعريف "المتلازمة" ، ظهرت صورة مفصلة إلى حد ما عن المشاعر: الشك الذاتي ، وعدم احترام الذات ، والأرق ، والخوف من حكم الآخرين ، والقلق - وكلها مرتبطة بطريقة ما الشعور بأنك في المكان الخطأ ، شيء غير مستحق.

هذه المعتقدات يمكن أن تخلق حلقة مفرغة. إن عملية التفكير في كونك احتياليًا ولا ترقى إلى مستوى التوقعات تثير مشاعر القلق وعدم الجدارة الكافية ، وتقلل من ثقة الطالب في قدراتهم. والنتيجة النهائية هي أن الطلاب يفضلون الابتعاد عن زملائهم في الفصل خوفًا من أن يكونوا أقل قدرة وبالتالي محتقرًا. إلى جانب التحديات المرتبطة بالبرنامج ، هناك العديد من التحديات الأخرى المتعلقة بالخلفية المتنوعة للطالب والتي يمكن أن تتفق على جعل البرنامج ساحقًا: التكيف مع ثقافة جديدة ، وانتظار التوثيق القانوني ، والابتعاد عن العائلة والأصدقاء ، والقلق بشأن رفاههم.

حسب البحث، متلازمة المحتال لها أهمية خاصة في صناعة التكنولوجيا. يذكر حوالي 58% من موظفي التكنولوجيا أنهم تعرضوا لشكل من أشكال الحالة في حياتهم المهنية. "إنه شائع بشكل خاص في مهندسي البرمجيات والمطورين والمصممين. عادة ما يكون الأمر أسوأ لدى الأشخاص الجدد في صناعة التكنولوجيا ، أو الذين ينتمون إلى مجموعة ناقصة التمثيل ، أو ينتمون إلى خلفيات مهنية مختلفة“.

لاستكشاف المشكلة بشكل أكبر ، قررنا التحدث عنها بعمق أكبر مع اثنين من طلاب MigraCode الحاليين ، وهما داميان وناتاليا ، ولوسيانا ، وهي طبيبة نفسية متطوعة في فريق الصحة العقلية. يوجد لدى ناتاليا وداميان نقطتان متميزتان في البرنامج: يعمل داميان على مشروعه النهائي الذي سيقدمه في غضون أيام قليلة ، أما ناتاليا ، من ناحية أخرى ، فقد بدأت الدورة التدريبية منذ بضعة أشهر فقط. ومع ذلك ، أفاد كلاهما أنهما كان عليهما في كثير من الأحيان التعامل مع مشاعر متلازمة المحتال كما هو موضح أعلاه ، أو كما نقرر أن نسميها ، ظاهرة المحتال - "لجعله يبدو وكأنه مرض أقل". قرروا الانضمام إلى محادثتنا لأنهم كانوا مهتمين بفهم ما تنبع منه هذه المشاعر وما هي التكتيكات الممكنة لمنع تدفق الفكر - أو كما وصفها داميان "هذه الفوضى النفسية المتشابكة"- هذا يقود المرء إلى الشعور بأنه محتال.

تصف ناتاليا أن مشاعرها يمكن أن تظهر في أي وقت ويمكن أن تكون ثابتة للغاية:

"هناك أوقات أشعر فيها بهذه المشاعر طوال اليوم. أحيانًا يكون ذلك عندما أستيقظ ، وأحيانًا عندما أخلد إلى الفراش. أسأل نفسي باستمرار: ماذا أفعل؟ أقضي الأيام في أداء التدريبات وأشك في نفسي. علقت في تمرين ثم أصاب بالذعر. كيف يمكنني مساعدة نفسي؟ "

من جانب ناتاليا ، يتمثل الدور المهم في تحديد مشاعرها في حقيقة أن دخول عالم التكنولوجيا يعني بالنسبة لها الشروع في تغيير مهني من علم الاجتماع ، في الثلاثينيات من عمرها. شرحت لنا: "أنا شخص إلكتروني. بدأت دراسة الترميز دون أن يكون لدي أي خبرة سابقة. برنامج الترميز صعب. أرى أن بعض زملائي في الفصل ، الأصغر سناً ، الذين ليس لديهم خبرة سابقة ، وجدوا صعوبة في الدراسة وفهمها أسهل. أشعر بتقدم العمر“.

من ناحية أخرى ، كان لدى داميان بالفعل بعض الخبرة في الترميز ، وربما لهذا السبب ، يواجه المزيد من المشاكل عندما يضطر إلى طلب المساعدة من الآخرين. كما يعترف بنفسه ، على الرغم من أنه يعلم أنه قد يكون من المفيد الاعتماد على الآخرين ، فإنه يفضل أن يطلب من Google إيجاد حل لمشكلاته: "عندما أشعر بالإحباط ، أسأل google ، أبحث وأبحث ، لساعات ، أقضي أيامًا في المحاولة لإيجاد حل حتى لدي إجابة. أعلم أنني بحاجة للمساعدة ولكن لا يزال يتعين علي قبول هذه الحقيقة".

بالنسبة لأسئلتهم حول كيفية كبح هذه المشاعر ، فإن الحقيقة هي أنه لا توجد إجابة واحدة لماذا يختبرها الناس. في الوقت نفسه ، من الصعب جدًا العثور على شخص واحد في العالم لم يجد نفسه في مرحلة ما من حياته يشك في نفسه. في سياقات معينة ، تساهم بعض العوامل الخارجية في زيادة هذه المشاعر. على سبيل المثال ، في مكان العمل ، كلما قل عدد الأشخاص الذين يشبهونك أو يشبهونك ، قل شعورك بالثقة. لهذا السبب ، على سبيل المثال ، من الضروري تقليل عدم التوازن بين تمثيلات النساء والرجال في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

لحسن الحظ ، هناك تكتيكات لتقليل قوة هذه الأفكار وجعلها أقل تآكلًا في حياتنا. من أولى الخطوات للتغلب على مشاعر المحتالين الاعتراف بهذه الأفكار ومحاولة إعادة صياغتها. من الشائع جدًا أن يبدأ الناس في مقارنة أنفسهم بالآخرين والبدء في عزل أنفسهم. لذلك ، من الضروري طلب الدعم من الآخرين ومشاركة مشاعرك. يمكن أن تمنع الاستجابة للمعتقدات السلبية لمتلازمة المحتال الناس من الحصول على الدعم. ومع ذلك ، كما أشارت لوسيانا ، "من المهم أن تفهم أنك تبطئ من سرعتك عندما لا تطلب المساعدة. كان الأشخاص الآخرون في نفس حذائك ، وربما عانوا من هذه المشاعر ، وهذا يمكن أن يجعل كل شيء أقل رعبًا“.

لوسيانا طبيبة نفسية متطوعة في فريق الصحة العقلية MigraCode Barcelona.

كما ذكرت لوسيانا أن: "من المهم الحفاظ على الدافع مرتفعًا. تنظيم روتين ، وليس الضغط على قلبك كثيرًا. نعتقد في بعض الأحيان أننا لسنا جيدين بما فيه الكفاية ، ونحتاج إلى العمل وقتًا إضافيًا ، لكن هذا النهج ليس بالضرورة الأكثر إنتاجية. في بعض الأحيان نحتاج فقط إلى الراحة وتحقيق التوازن بين كل شيء. استخدام الجدول الزمني والاستراحة. خاصة إذا كنت متوتراً ، فإن إجبار نفسك على العمل سيجعلك أكثر توتراً".

على الرغم من أن إحدى أولويات برنامج MigraCode هي إنشاء مجتمع ، وهي آلية أساسية لإنشاء الدعم المتبادل ، إلا أن هناك دائمًا جوانب يمكن تحسينها لتكون أقرب إلى الطلاب ولضمان حصول الجميع على المساعدة الشخصية التي يحتاجون إليها. تناول أحد موضوعات محادثتنا أيضًا الاستراتيجيات التي يمكن أن يتضمنها البرنامج لضمان مزيد من الدعم ، مثل 1) المربعات المجهولة التي يمكن للطلاب من خلالها ترك تعليقات حول صحتهم العقلية واقتراحاتهم ، أو 2) جلسات العلاج الجماعي للحديث عن المشكلات الشائعة التي يواجهها الطلاب.

كما صرحت ناتاليا: "لقد كان عقد هذا الاجتماع بالفعل في غاية الأهمية. جعلني أدرك أنني ربما لست وحدي ، وأن الناس يريدون ويحتاجون إلى التحدث عن متلازمة المحتال وأن يكون لديهم مكان آمن لمناقشتها".


0 تعليق

اترك تعليقاً

عنصر نائب للصورة الرمزية

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

This article discusses mental health issues. Thank you to all the students who participated in the open conversation, as well as to the students who shared a few comments about their feelings with us.

Giving priority to students’ mental health has always been an essential part of MigraCode Barcelona. When setting up the program one of the main concerns was to ensure quality psychological support to the students to prevent their early drop-out. A task that is carried out by the MigraCode mental health team, formed by psychologist volunteers.

September is a delicate moment for many students. During the month, the graduation ceremony for the batch of students that started the course in January will be held. The students will have to present their final project, thus concluding their journey. At the same time, the students who started in July find themselves facing the first more complicated challenges, after the initial enthusiasm.

For these reasons, we decided to have an open conversation about well-being and mental health, to understand how the students were coping with these changes. One of the clear patterns that emerged was that many were experiencing the so-called impostor syndrome. But what is it, exactly?

When we asked the students to provide us with a definition of the “syndrome”, a rather detailed picture of emotions turned up: self-doubt, lack of self-esteem, insomnia, fear of other people’s judgment, anxiety – all somehow associated with the feeling of being in the wrong place, an undeserved one.

These beliefs can create a vicious circle. The thought process of being a fraud and not up to expectations brings feelings of anxiety, of not being worthy enough, and reduces the student’s confidence in their abilities. The ultimate result is that students prefer to distance themselves from their classmates for fear of being less capable and therefore despised. Besides the challenges connected to the program, there are numerous others related to the student’s diverse background that can concur to making the program overwhelming: adapting to a new culture, waiting for legal documentation, being away from family and friends, and having to worry about their well-being.

According to research, impostor syndrome is especially relevant in the tech industry. About 58% of tech employees state that they have experienced some form of the condition within their careers. “It’s especially common in software engineers, developers, and designers. It’s usually worse in people who are new within the tech industry, are part of an underrepresented group, or have come from different professional backgrounds“.

To explore the issue further, we decided to talk about it in more depth with two current MigraCode students, Damian and Natalia, and Luciana, a volunteer psychologist of the mental health team. Natalia and Damian are at two distinct points in the program: Damian is working on his final project which he will present in a few days, Natalia, on the other hand, only started the course a few months ago. Both, however, reported that they have often had to deal with feelings of impostor syndrome as described above, or as we decide to call it, the impostor phenomenon – “to make it sound less like an illness”. They decided to join our conversation because they were interested in understanding what these feelings stem from and what are the possible tactics to block the flow of thought – or as Damian described it “this tangled psychological mess” – that leads one to feel like an impostor.

Natalia describes that her feelings can surface at any time and can be very persistent:

“There are times in which I experience these feelings all day. Sometimes it’s when I wake up, sometimes when I go to bed. I constantly question myself: what am I doing? I spend the days doing the exercises and doubting myself. I get stuck on an exercise and then I panic. How can I help myself?”

On Natalia’s side, a significant role in determining her feelings is the fact that entering the tech world means for her to embark on a career change from sociology, in her 30s. She explained to us: “I’m a letter person. I started to study coding without having any previous experience. The coding program it’s hard. I see that some of my classmates, younger ones, that have no previous experience found it less hard to study and they understand easier. I feel old“.

Damian, on the other hand, already had some experience in coding, and maybe for this reason, he faces more problems when having to ask others for help. As he admits himself, although he knows it can be helpful to rely on others, he prefers to ask Google for the solution to his problems: “when I am frustrated I ask google, I search and search, for hours, I spend days trying to find a solution until I have an answer. I know that I need help but I still have to accept this fact”.

To their questions on how to curb these feelings, the truth is that there is no single answer to why people experience them. At the same time, it is rather difficult to find a single person in the world who at some point in their life has not found themselves doubting themselves. In certain contexts, some external factors contribute to increasing these feelings. For instance, in a workplace, the fewer people who look or sound like you, the less you will feel confident. This is why, for instance, it is essential to reduce the unbalance between women’s and men’s representations in the STEM fields.

Fortunately, there are tactics to decrease the force of these thoughts and make them less corrosive in our lives. One of the first steps to overcoming impostor feelings is to acknowledge these thoughts and try to reframe them. It is very common for people to start comparing themselves to others and starting to isolate themselves. Therefore, it is essential to ask for support from other people and to share your feelings. The response to the negative beliefs of impostor syndrome can prevent people from getting support. However, as Luciana pointed out, “it’s important to understand that you’re slowing yourself down when you don’t ask for help. Other people have been in your same shoes, and have probably experienced these feelings, and this can make everything less scary“.

Luciana is a volunteer psychologist of the MigraCode Barcelona mental health team.

Luciana also stated that: “maintaining motivation high it’s important. Organizing a routine, not pushing your heart too much. Sometimes we think that we are not good enough, and we need to work extra time, but this approach is not necessarily the most productive. Sometimes we just need to rest and balance everything out. Using a schedule and having breaks. especially if you are stressed, forcing yourself to work will just make you even more stressed”.

Although one of the MigraCode program’s priorities is to create a community, a fundamental mechanism to create mutual support, there are always aspects that can be improved to be closer to the students and to ensure that everyone receives the personalized assistance they need. One topic of our conversation has also regarded the strategies that the program could include to ensure more support, such as 1) anonymous boxes in which students can leave comments about their mental health and suggestions, or 2) collective therapy sessions to talk about common problems that the students are facing.

As Natalia stated: “having this meeting has already been super important. it made me realize that I am probably not alone, that people want and need to talk about impostor syndrome and have a safe place to discuss it”.


0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published.